Losing the Pulse

ImageThere is something so magnetic about a new idea.  It has a force all its own that drags you into a groove of creativity that is unmatched at any other time in your life.  It is such a high that Bill Burroughs would choose it over fixing – just kidding, he never chose anything over fixing.  But that feeling, that urgent need to write words on paper that we sometimes call the muse, is as ephemeral as smoke. 

Sometimes it fades on its own.  Sometimes the idea turns sour.  Sometimes you see something on TV that is a little too close to the idea you’re working on. But sometimes all it takes is a little disruption in routine. 

I had developed the SciFi story on my daily walks through the greenbelt behind my house and eventually the urge to write it down became too strong to resist.  I switched my attention from Pawn Takes Knight and the story just came streaming out.

Then it rained.  For three days.  Also, I went to the movies one night instead of writing.  The movie I saw, Star Trek: Into Darkness, really got in my head.  There was almost exactly as much wrong with it as was right with the first one and I simply could not stop cataloguing all the mistakes and missed opportunities. I am now worried that the Abrams team will fail to take ownership of the Star Trek universe they themselves created and will, instead, just start remaking old Trek movies with slight plot changes.

By the time I returned to work on the SciFi novel, I found the fire had died.  You ignore the groove at your own peril.  It will desert you.  I found myself sitting at my desk, fingers on keyboard, nothing coming out and no desire to type a single word.  This has happened before which is why I keep multiple projects in the hopper, but this time things turned out a little differently.

When I started writing this post, I planned to end it by saying I was going back to work on Pawn Takes Knight, but a few walks in the greenbelt following my irascible pointer (everyone in three neighborhoods knows his name because I’m constantly calling him back.  “That’s too far, Charley.  Charley!”) kept bringing to mind a line I intend to put somewhere in the middle of the book (looking at this planet’s version of a wolf, he says to himself, “I wish we had dogs.”) and that brought it all back.

If I can get the groove back that easily then this project stands a good chance of seeing a complete first draft written in one go, a rarity.  The downside of that being that if Pawn Takes Knight keeps getting pushed back, the people who once were interested in a sequel to The Vengeance Season will lose interest.

 

 

One thought on “Losing the Pulse

Leave a Reply

